Eclipse keyboard shortcuts or shortkeys

I’m not gonna excuse my shortkeys. Or did I just do that? Here are some Eclipse shortcuts that I use regularily and some that I keep forgetting as I don’t use them…

Stars
Shortkey Function and Description
¤¤¤ ctrl+1 Suggest Fix (TDD tool)
¤ ctrl + shift + i Inspect
¤ alt + ↑ ↓ Move selected lines up or down
¤ alt + shift + L Extract local variable
¤ alt + shift + M Extract method
alt + shift + X, t Run as test
¤ alt + (shift +) k Find next match of marked text in file, up/down.
¤¤ ctrl + (shift +) 7 Comment/uncomment
¤ ctrl +d Delete line
ctrl + o Outline
¤ ctrl + (shift+) T Open Type
¤ ctrl + shift + R Open Resource
¤ ctrl + shift + G Find all references
¤ ctrl + shift + O Organize imports
¤ ctrl + shift + F Format
(ctrl +) F11 Run or debug last test
ctrl + shift + Y/X UPPERCASE or lowercase marked text
New! ctrl + shift + L List all shortcuts. Find your own!

Now you propably know more than me… Please inform me of my lackings!

About Ole Morten Amundsen

Developer, programmer, entrepreneur. Java, .Net, ruby, rails, agile, lean. Opinionated enthusiast!
This entry was posted in Java and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Eclipse keyboard shortcuts or shortkeys

  1. a1979shakedown says:

    You can find a wealth of information in the Eclipse Help section (in Eclipse), particularly a gargantuan list of all these keyboard shortcuts.

  2. Ole Morten says:

    Yes, you’re right. This list is supposed to be small and show which are my favourites. I hope someone would tell me if there’s a keyboard shortcut that should be amongst my favourites! :)

  3. Tommy Ryen says:

    Hi!

    A few other keyboard-shortcuts immediately comes into my mind:

    Alt+Shift+S, V – Override/Implement Methods…
    Alt+Shift+S, R – Generate Getters and Setters… (although not to be used headlessly:))
    Alt+Shift+D, T – Debug JUnit Test
    Alt+Shift+R – Refactor –> Rename
    F3 – Open Declaration (With marker on for instance another Class)
    Alt + ← → – Back and Forward

Leave a Reply

